If you’re on Google Plus, Google recently made it possible for anyone else on Google Plus to email you, even if they don’t know your email address. Your name will pop up as suggestions whenever someone in one of your circles starts composing an email. To maintain a level of privacy, that person won’t see your actual email address unless you respond. While some people may find this to be a helpful feature, many will see it as a privacy threat. While the feature is enabled by default, Google has made it easy to opt out. Here’s how. Head over to Gmail, then click on the gear symbol in the upper right corner. Choose Settings, then Email via Google+. Click No one, then hit Save. That’s all you need to do. The feature is Google’s latest effort to make Google Plus more widely used and more appealing. It’s a great idea for networking, but in a time where we’re very paranoid about our cyber security, it’s also a little creepy.

Shelly Palmer

Shelly Palmer is Managing Partner at Palmer Advanced Media, a technology-focused strategic advisory practice that helps Fortune 500 companies and growth-stage companies with digital strategy, data science, marketing, branding, and business development. He is Fox 5 New York's on-air tech and digital media expert and a regular commentator on CNBC and CNN. @shellypalmer or visit shellypalmer.com.

Share this post

Like it? Tweet it.

"Shelly Palmer Radio Report – January 22, 2014" by @ShellyPalmer