Facebook is a great way to stay connected with family and friends, and to kill some time by playing a few levels of Candy Crush. But if you’ve come to the point where Facebook is more of a burden than a blessing, permanently deleting your account is pretty easy. Here’s how to get rid of it for good. Search for “delete account” in the Facebook Help Center, which is at Facebook.com/Help. Facebook will warn you that once your profile is deleted, the information you had there will be inaccessible. Then, click “Delete My Account.” You’ll be asked if you’re really sure you want to get rid of your account, and if you click yes, enter your password, and complete the “captcha” … you’re gone. An e-mail from Facebook will confirm that you’ve successfully deleted your account. And if you all of a sudden have a change of heart, don’t worry: Facebook gives you a two week grace period. Log back into your account and click the “Cancel Deletion” button … and everything will be right with the world.

Shelly Palmer

Shelly Palmer is Managing Partner at Palmer Advanced Media, a technology-focused strategic advisory practice that helps Fortune 500 companies and growth-stage companies with digital strategy, data science, marketing, branding, and business development. He is Fox 5 New York's on-air tech and digital media expert and a regular commentator on CNBC and CNN. @shellypalmer or visit shellypalmer.com.

Share this post

Like it? Tweet it.

"Shelly Palmer Radio Report – April 1, 2014" by @ShellyPalmer