Reset All Settings

Reset All Settings

Most iOS users rarely, if ever, need to head into their device settings and hit the “Reset All Settings” button. But sometimes, particularly with a new OS install, unforeseen issues can force your hand. Unfortunately, a new bug is making device resets problematic for those who use iCloud Drive. “Reset All Settings” specifically notes that it does not delete any media or data. But after upgrading to iOS 8 and using iCloud Drive, Apple’s cloud-based file storage system, a small number of iOS users who decided to reset all their device settings found that in addition to resetting the device, it also deleted their iWork documents from iCloud Drive. Macrumors, which first identified the issue, found that this deletion expanded from the iPhone and web to synced Yosemite-running desktop machines as well. Since Textedit and Preview documents can’t yet be viewed on iPhone, these files seem unaffected.

Read the full story at Wired.

Like it? Tweet it.

"How to Avoid Accidentally Erasing Your iCloud Drive in iOS 8" by @ShellyPalmer

600,000 subscribers and counting...

We write a daily newsletter featuring current events and the top stories in technology, media, marketing and entertainment.

Subscribe