Twitter has a new feature: users can now remove a follower without having to block them. Can’t you just block the people you don’t want to interact with? Yes, but when you block someone, they know you’ve blocked them, so blocking someone from following you on Twitter can lead to retaliation from the person you block or their friends. This new feature is more subtle, as the person you’ve removed won’t know you’ve removed them unless they examine your followers.
At first glance, this seems like a good idea, but think about this for a moment: Twitter management believes that Twitter is so dangerous that you need a way to remove people from your twitterverse without alerting them or their friends.
Author’s note: This is not a sponsored post. I am the author of this article and it expresses my own opinions. I am not, nor is my company, receiving compensation for it.